top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Read and Remix Blog #5

From growing up on the Panhandle of Florida and then moving to southwest Florida at the age of 9, I have had many dinners, gatherings, and family events that have revolved solely around seafood. My family has always owned a boat and fished on the weekends. We would travel to the Keys every summer and tropical places for spring break. Every time my family and I go out to dinner, the seafood on the menu is where our eyes gravitate. I always tend to order shrimp or a white fish, rather than lobster or tuna, because of the incredible disparity in price between these food items. A piece of fish or a shrimp entrée would probably cost around $15.00, whereas a lobster tail or pasta containing lobster would range from $25.00-$35.00. After reading the article “Considering the Lobster” by David Foster, I was shocked to read that the cost of a 1 ¼ pound of lobster served with chips, melted butter, and a soft roll was only $12.00. The article states that the cost of this meal directly compares and reflects the price of a supper at McDonald’s. I completely understand how the overwhelming abundance of lobster in Maine is the reason for the price shift; however, I can’t believe the price gouging between two different coastal states. I am curious to why there are vast amounts of lobster in Maine when they prefer warm water, which can be found in the Florida Keys all year long. A transport of some of the lobster in Maine to the Florida Key’s would be extremely beneficial, in selfish ways, for consumer’s wallets and greedy seafood lovers.


bottom of page