top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Read and Remix Blog #4

Genres transform from elementary topics formed by children’s novels and kindergarten teachers to compositions and categories created by flexibility, the way people use them, etc. After class on Monday, conversing about Project 1 and 2 ideas including a topic, research, text, genre, etc., I become confused about what a genre had to do with my projects for ENC and how I was going to be able to relate them to my researched community. I was hoping that the Chapter 1 assigned reading from The Bedford Book of Genres would aid in clarifying everything about genres, and it did. I had no clue that I should be asking myself questions such as “Why am I composing?”, “Who am I composing for?”, and “How will a rhetoric be used?” before starting to compile my drafts for the projects. The three crucial aspects of understanding genres include a purpose, an audience, and the ability to communicate effectively. My purpose for Project 1 will aim more to present a narrative and tell a story, whereas Project 2 will inform due to the massive amount of research put into it. Although I am composing the Project drafts for myself and Mat, I am also writing to an audience of my fellow honors classmates in order for them to better understand me, my community involvement, and the in depth research for a specific subject/community. I want my audience to understand that I am writing to them; therefore, I will make personal connections, address the audience directly, and write in a way to hook the readers to the narrative I am writing about. Lastly, the three types of rhetorical appeals will be included in combination in order to prove my primary goal of the projects. Within the foundations of Ethos, Pathos, and Logos, I will be credible and trustworthy, appeal to the emotions of the audience, and provide a connection of facts in evidence, respectfully. My understanding for a genre within my projects has grown by starting to understand the parts of a genres and how it can be achieved. I want my composition to be a positive experience for the readers.


bottom of page