top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Read and Remix Blog #3: Questioning

ENC 2135 class on September 6th consisted of the going over index cards, reading a poem, talking about Project 1, and free-writing in 3 separate instances for 5 minutes each. The topics chosen to ponder and write about seemed to be elementary, but the class participated with no hesitation. I questioned why we were joining in with this task, as I was confused how it contributed and benefited within the realm of the class. As I was writing, I felt as if my thoughts were exploding out of my head and were magically filling a word document within minutes. The prompts given before the time started were all relatable and relevant. The free write allowed me to put thoughts into words, and words on paper that I could look back on later and use as a resource. After leaving HSF, I still questioned the specific reasoning behind Mat’s idea. When reading Chapter 5 in The Bedford Book of Genres, I began to comprehend the rational. The detailed instructions that readers are guided to follow in the book, with numbered steps, halted the questions and transferred into asking myself questions. What are things that come to mind? What questions do I have from those topics that come to mind? What focused topics come after the questions in phase 2? Following the step of coming up with a topic, the research aspect is fundamental in determining facts, fiction, evidence, etc. In addition, sticking to a single topic and forming a reliable research question, in which an entire essay can be written, concludes the process of choosing a topic and composing a “shitty first draft”. The Bedford Book of Genres facilitated a way to not only answer the questions I had from class on September 6th, but help form topics, questions, and research for the upcoming projects 1 and 2. Even though the questioning from class on Wednesday was over, the crucial question was only getting started.


bottom of page